The old postcard, “Studio Gardens,” shows a clipped-gable cottage nestled in a flower bed on an idyllic lane. Impossibly quaint? No, it really exists. Alice (Douglas) Grant, the owner of 496 Commercial, built it in 1910 as a studio for her husband, Lawrence Grant. Dr. Joseph Robinson — watercolorist, musician, and chiropractor — owned it until 1977, when it was bought by Albert Davis, a potter and sculptor whose handiwork can be seen at Napi’s. Davis sold it in 2004 to David King, who shared it with his husband, John Frishkopf. Edward “Ted” Chapin designed a renovation that preserved much of the original fabric and exterior volume, while integrating it with a 1970s rear addition. Enormous hemlock beams from the demolished wing of the Provincetown Art Association and Museum were salvaged and reused here. King died in 2014.
More than 2,000 buildings and vessels are searchable on buildingprovincetown.com. The Building Provincetown book is available for purchase ($20) at Town Hall, Office of the Town Clerk, 260 Commercial Street, Provincetown 02657.