Two three-and-a-half-story buildings, built before 1858, are joined by a one-story “hyphen.” Obadiah Snow bought the west building in 1873 and the east building in 1875. Here, in what was called the Snow Building, he sold household furnishings and fancy goods. There is a rich history of the Snow family, and several revealing pictures of these buildings, in Irma Ruckstuhl’s Old Provincetown in Early Photographs. James Arthur Lopes moved his men’s store here in 1954, where it remained in business until 1973. Recent retail tenants have included Lily Pond, Paws & Whiskers, and, currently, Life at the Beach and Cock & Bull Leather.
More than 2,000 buildings and vessels are searchable on buildingprovincetown.com. The Building Provincetown book is available for purchase ($20) at Town Hall, Office of the Town Clerk, 260 Commercial Street, Provincetown 02657.