Ed Wiener, a celebrated silversmith whose clients included Louise Nevelson and Martha Graham, had a gallery here from 1951 to 1965 as part of Gallery Walk, a complex run by Nicholas and Ray Wells. In 1960, Molly Malone Cook opened a groundbreaking showcase: VII Photographers Gallery, including Berenice Abbott, W. Eugene Smith, Eugène Atget, and Arnold Newman. In the late ’60s, the artists Deborah Sheila (Muskat) Kahn and Michael Kahn opened the To Be Coffeehouse, run by Raymond Elman. Ronny Hazel bought the building in 1979, painted it purple and called it Karisma, which evolved into the New Wave and then into Shop Therapy and Spank the Monkey jewelry. The murals were largely the work of Bob Gasoi, Joey Mars, and Pierre Riche. Hazel moved Shop Therapy to 286-288 Commercial in 2012. The Tennyson Gallery and Metamorphosis jewelry store are now here.
More than 2,000 buildings and vessels are searchable on buildingprovincetown.com. The Building Provincetown book is available for purchase ($20) at Town Hall, Office of the Town Clerk, 260 Commercial Street, Provincetown 02657.