West End Racing Club
The West End Racing Club sounds like a place whose members dress in commodores’ outfits, but it is in fact a nonprofit organization begun at Flyer’s Beach in 1950 that teaches children to swim and sail. Their shoreline clubhouse at 83 Commercial Street was finished and dedicated in 1957 on “the same ground where once stood the old Wharf Theater.” This building was to house summer activities and provide a wintertime storage area for the boats.
Here is a bit of history from its Web site: “Begun in 1950 as a loosely organized gang of kids congregating at ‘Flyer’s beach’, it soon became apparent to a number of parents that more boats and a proper club house were needed. Francis Santos, Larry Richmond, Richard Santos, Frank Rogers, Joe Andrews, Fillmore Miller and Will Hurlburt joined together to solidify a common goal: to give kids in Provincetown an opportunity to learn how to sail and enrich their lives with nautical knowledge and experience. During the winters several of these handy fathers built small boats called Weasels from kits and the fleet began to grow. Calling on the generosity of local artists, paintings, drawings and sculptures were donated and raffles were held raising enough money to buy the waterfront property where the club is today. As the kids grew, so did the fleet — with the addition of five Blue Jays built by Larry Richmond, Dick Santos and Lloyd Atwood.”